My official Atheist coming out

Standard

Ok here we go.  I’m coming out the the facebook world.  I made it all ‘official’ by changing my religious status to Atheist.  So by the rules of internets if you say it on facebook it’s official right?  (lol) And today I really wanted to post something here and publicly announcing the new post on my regular newsfeed as apposed to just posting on the wall of the Reno Freethinkers group page.  (Man it’s really ridiculous how seriously we take facebook.  It’s embarrassing!)  Anyways after some wine here it is….

I’m an Atheist.

Don’t worry I wont bash your religious views just because my beliefs have changed.  And just because I believe something different than your theist views doesn’t mean that I will stop respecting you.  Which in turn I would hope you would still respect me just the same.  I support my friends beliefs even if I don’t believe them myself.

Everyday I keep it hidden the more I feel like it’s eating me away.  This wasn’t a light or fleeting decision.  I’ve thought about this for a while and I didn’t realize it until a few months ago.  So I would ask you to please don’t pray for me or try to convince me that I’m wrong.  I don’t do that to you so please respect that.  I don’t believe in a heaven or a hell so please don’t tell me that I’m doing to hell just because I don’t believe the same thing as you.

I’m no different, I don’t have a desease or koodies, so there is no need to keep away from me.  I wont raise my kids to be devil worshipers (because I don’t believe in the devil) but I will raise them to be intellegent and allow them to make their own decisions as  far as their beliefs.

I know I’ll be nervous as soon as I post this onto my facebook, but I’ll get over it and I’ll feel better.  If you can’t accept my decision and want to try to ‘condemn’ me to hell or tell me I’m wrong then you don’t have to read my blog or you can just ignore me or “defriend me” (oooohhhh nooooo!…please).

Just keep in mind that Atheists want respect just as much as Christians/Jews/spaghetti monster/etcs want respect.

So cheers to you all.  I’m celebrating my out-ness (I know it’s not a real word) by drinking some more wine (or beer) and watching tonights Nightline with James Randi showing that all psychics are fakes.

Here is my official scarlet letter!  I’m damn proud of it!

Leave a Reply

