On the Topic of Noah’s Ark

Standard

I’ve been thinking about Noah’s Ark a lot lately…

As I was going through Sunday school and we were learning about Noah’s Ark I remember thinking “How is it possible for Noah to fit ALLLLL of the animals in a boat?”  Mind you I was young when I was thinking this.

The more and more I think about these stories the more and more I laugh at all the people that actually believe it.  A few years ago I was taking my Core Humanities classes(required for all students in universities/colleges in Nevada) and we were talking about Gilgamesh and the great flood in that.  The thing that always made me curious was that it was written several thousand years before the bible.  Here is the wikipedia version if your not familar with it…..  http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gilgamesh_flood_myth

Anyways…Ever since we’ve gotten back from TAM9 we’ve been watching a lot of the history channel.  And for some reason it seems they are talking alot about aliens.  One particular show they were talking about Noah’s Ark.  They were talking about it would be really difficult to get 2 of every single creature onto a Ark.  So what if Noah got the DNA of each creature??  This being a show about aliens they talked about if aliens had come down to earth gave Noah the technology to collect DN of every animal and save the earth that way.  Then once the flood was over the aliens would come back and collect the technology and leave.  I promise I’m not making this up.  I really don’t think this would have happened.

I’ve been talking about this with my coworker and my husband.  I know that there was a great flood.  I highly doubt that if there were humans during that time that they would know what a cubic was or have the tools to make a great ark.  As far as the animals…evolution ‘kicked in’ and had the living creatures adapt to the environment so the fittest could survive.

I love the fact that people will look at these natural phenomena and then create a ‘bedtime’ story and put religious meaning to it.  I think my favorite adaption of Noah’s Ark is the one that includes the dinosaurs being onboard.

I would love to hear what other opinions are to this story.  What other adaptions have you heard of?

P.S. have you heard that someone is building a Ark and making it into a restaurant/amusement park?  True Story.  

3 responses »

  1. There are also more ancient stories about Tigris and Euphrates flooding and about the Nile flooding. There’s also geological evidence to support flooding that would seem pretty bad to a culture without much knowledge of how large the Earth actually is. Now, about getting all 1.5 million species of animal on a single wooden boat, now that’s kind of crazy…

    • It’s just funny that people tend to ignore that there are other previous ‘books’ that have the exact same stories in them and no one tends to remember that. The bible is just the most recent version of it. And if Noah collected every living creature does that mean he collected all of the bugs too? that would be a bit more difficult.

Leave a Reply

